Double Dipping

When I had some girlfriends over for a little red wine and red carpet reviews during this awards season, I made a few of snacks for us to nibble on.  After all…we weren’t the ones who had to squeeze into one of a kind gowns that fit like a glove.  Among the apps we passed around while sharing thoughts that were equal part admiration and jealousy, was a creamy shrimp dip.  Knowing it wouldn’t keep if it sat out as long as these awards shows last, I put half of the recipe I made in the fridge.  And I had about two cups leftover.  Better make use of it…there was good shrimp in that!  

leftover shrimp dip

At least once a week, I find ways to use tortillas.  And taking a look in my fridge, I also spotted the rest of that salsa verde I was looking to use up (See previous post-Freezer Games)  I thought about using this creamy shrimp dip as the base sauce for some enchiladas!  Besides the shrimp, It had cream cheese, sour cream and mayo in it, plus some celery, green onion and cocktail onions (which I used instead of the pearl onions the recipe called for) I didn’t know if it would work, but you won’t know unless you try.

First step was to grill up the single defrosted chicken breast I had in the fridge (also something I needed to use before it spoiled).  I seasoned it with salt and pepper, cumin, and chili powder, then cooked it on a grill pan.  My husband, who by now could smell what was developing in the kitchen, wisely suggested I shred the meat.  It was a good call.

shredded chicken

Having the chicken in that form made for a better filling and, I think, stretched that one breast a little bit further.  Gradually, I added spoonfuls of the shrimp dip until the filling was the consistency I was going for.

chicken enchilad filling

I put about 3-4 tablespoons of the filling near one end of a tortilla, tucked that end underneath the filling and rolled it tightly.  Then I put them seam side down in a greased casserole dish.  I repeated the process until the filling was gone (had enough for four, perfect!)

salsa verde on enchilada

I also had just enough salsa verde left over to pour over the four enchiladas.  I topped them with a shredded Mexican cheese blend, covered it with foil and baked my “double dip delight” at 350* until it was warmed through and the top was bubbling.

chicken and shrimp enchiladas

I was really pleased with the way these creamy chicken and shrimp enchiladas turned out, and it was all inspired by a little leftovers from a little girl time.

This weekend is the Academy Awards.  What are you making for your watch party?  More importantly, what do you hope you have leftover?

Leave a Reply

