Play it again, pork: Open-faced BBQ Sandwich on Texas Toast

I can’t resist a pulled pork sandwich when I see it on the menu at a BBQ joint (or smoked brisket, for that matter) It reminds me of my time in Texas.  So when I was faced with the challenge of what to make with leftover pork roast, my former Lone-Star self knew what to do.  Let’s pull this pork!

pork roast

I was working with a couple pounds of pork that I originally roasted with a brown mustard, brown sugar, garlic and rosemary glaze.  I thought these flavors would lend themselves very easily to a BBQ version.

pulled pork roast

I grabbed a couple of forks and tore into the pork that was leftover after yesterday’s dinner.  I patiently pulled the remaining meat apart until I had several cups of stringy chunks.  Then I started looking around for how I’d finish off the dish.

bbq pulled pork

I found a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Barbecue Sauce and some Mezzetta jalapeno slices.  That’s the ticket!  If I was feeling particularly ambitious, I would’ve made my own sauce…but it’s a weekday here, people.  I added about half a cup of the sauce and a couple tablespoons of jalapeno slices to the pulled pork and mixed it well.

Another element that you can’t leave out of a genuine pulled pork sandwich: coleslaw.  It’s the cool, creamy “Ying” to the tangy “Yang” of the barbecue pork.  Luckily, I had a brand new bag of shredded cabbage and carrots in the fridge, in anticipation of Fish Fry Friday (it’s Lent, after all)

cole slaw

So I mixed some coleslaw dressing, with a little mayo, white wine vinegar and celery seed.  Mix this to your taste.  I think the dressing is way too sweet alone, so I add the vinegar, but it’s not for everybody.  I tossed in the cabbage/carrot mix and let this sit for a couple hours.

Now-what about a “vessel” for my pulled pork?  Didn’t have any buns around, or bread that would hold up to the heaping pile of pork I planned to dish up on my plate.  What I did have was several boxes of Pepperidge Farm Texas Toast (thanks to a BOGO free deal at the grocery store over the weekend).  This would work if I went the “open-faced pulled pork sandwich” route.  No complaints here!

I grabbed a jar of pickle slices and some sweet potato fries to serve on the side, perfect accompaniments.  So I fired up the oven to bake the Texas toast, and fries…and heat up my pulled pork.  Once all three elements were heated/baked to my satisfaction, it was “construction time.”  I placed a pair of Texas toasts on the plate, then a mountain of pulled pork (and some additional barbecue sauce) and a generous scoop of coleslaw on each.

pulled pork on texas toast 2

The smoky, sweet heat of the pulled pork, paired with the creamy, crunchy slaw and the crispy garlic toast…I was transported back to the land of rattlesnakes and rhinestones!  This is a knife and fork kinda sandwich, ya’ll.  Giddyup.    

Leave a Reply

