Door to Door Organics: #joydelivered now in Northeast Ohio

To me, getting a fresh organic produce delivery is as good as flowers delivered to my doorstep.  Because in my house, food is love.  And I love what I’m feeding my family now that Door to Door Organics is filling up my fridge.  The food geek in me was pretty excited when the first boxes arrived.

DTD boxes

As part of their effort to spread the word about their new presence in the Cleveland/Akron area, Door to Door Organics, https://ohio.doortodoororganics.com/ offered me the opportunity to try their service and products (complimentary) then provide a review.   I’m a Kicthen Maven!  #kicthenmavenCLE  And what’s best? I have $50 gift certificates and discounts to give away to Cheftovers readers and followers!!  All you have to do is follow my blog, share this post, or comment.  I’ll be randomly selecting winners from those who support Cheftovers and Door to Door Organics. (@dtdorganics, https://www.facebook.com/DoorToDoorOrganicsOhio)

Here’s how the process works: You sign up via their website (linked above) and chose the size produce box you’d like to have delivered to your home or office, (fruits, veggies or a combo) and the frequency (weekly or bi-weekly).  Then you can customize!

What I really like about this service versus traditional CSA’s (community supported agriculture, where you get a grab bag of local, in-season produce delivered regularly) is that you can set your preferences and substitute items.  The complaints I always hear from CSA participants is when something is in season, they often get too much of it, whether they like it in the first place or not.  Door to Door Organics allows you to set preferences when you sign up.

I don’t want anything to do with Brussels sprouts.  I think they taste like feet, no matter how much bacon you cook them in.  So I put those and a few others on my “Don’t Want” list.

On the other side of the coin, I got to put together a list of fruits and veggies that my family thinks are awesome.  Since we are not an “all organic” household either, I chose produce that I believe are worth eating organic (and left out those which don’t matter as much to me).  In addition, you can substitute items.  A few days before your delivery comes, you’ll get an email listing the items that’ll be in your box of #joydelivered.  You’re allowed up to five substitutions.  There are many to chose from and it’s easily spelled out what you can get instead for the same price.

This week I’m planning to make a new enchilada dish (subsequent post and recipe coming soon!), so I substituted something I wasn’t interested in, and added a couple jalapenos.  I also noticed that my “Bitty Box” would have another pound of organic carrots in it.  We hadn’t yet finished the bag that came last week, so I substituted that too.

To finish, I shopped for things I’ll need for the recipe I’m developing, like rice and black beans.  This saved me a “bonus” trip to the grocery store where I’d end up buying more things I probably didn’t need.  I think a dozen organic brown eggs are going to be added to my order every week!  Yum.

DTD organics meat and dairy

I was also pleased to see that the dairy and meat I added to my order came in a well insulated box, as it sat outside on the back patio until I came home that evening.  (the meat that could be frozen, was, adding to the “chill” factor in the “add-ons” box).

DTD cooler box

I am a new customer to the organic groceries world.  So in the interest of honesty and full disclosure, I must say…the price on some of this stuff is significantly higher than I’m used to.  But the “convenience” factor cannot be ignored.  And those who already shop and eat organically are familiar.  I also value and appreciate that the produce is local (when possible) along with products from several vendors.  I love that.

Door to Door Organics Bitty Box, feeds 1-2 adults for $25.99

Door to Door Organics Bitty Box, feeds 1-2 adults for $25.99

I have been meaning to try a CSA for several summers now.  But honestly, adding another errand to my to-do list (driving to a pick-up location at a designated day, time and location) is not appealing.  But getting #joydelivered through Door to Door Organics has been great.  Easy, healthy and delicious.  I plan to continue it!

My readers and followers can get a discount on their first order.  Use https://ohio.doortodoororganics.com/signup?gift_cert=CHEFTOVERS15O    

Leave a Reply

