Bring me food! Delivery options for hungry Clevelanders this winter

I don’t know about you, but lately I have been equal parts busy, hungry, tired and cold.  It’s January in Cleveland.  And that combination has inspired me to look around for new, or established favorite options for making mealtimes easier and more comfortable for my day and my household.  


Meal Prep delivery: Get perfectly planned and measured ingredients for gourmet home cooked meals brought to you once a week.  Blue Apron is the monster in this category but there is also Hello Fresh, Home Chef and Plated, among your options.  Cheftovers bonus: these options minimize waste, as the meals are precisely portioned for the number of people you sign up for.  I have tried several of these. For me, the meal in a box is interesting because it invites and guides me in preparing home cooked meals outside my comfort zone.  However, it does not cut down much on prep time, but it takes the thinking and grocery shopping off your plate.  Pun intended.  

Mod Meals


No cooking required: Mod Meals offers you restaurant quality, chef inspired meals from local chefs.   Bonus: they will also deliver beer from Goldhorn Brewery and desserts from Cafe 55.  Sprinly deliveries within 30 miles of Cleveland (including Akron) and offers organic, plant based meals developed by nutritionists.  For less commitment, and more options from the local favorites you love to chow on, call up Uber Eats and Grub Hub.

Door to Door Organics, photo courtesy Instagram


Grocery Delivery:  Door to Door Organics arrived in the market in spring of last year.  They can bring you fresh produce and natural groceries to your doorstep, with lots of options to swap for your preferences, in the weekly box you sign up for. Presto Fresh will give you unlimited deliveries of locally sourced and specialty groceries from Zagara’s for a year for $89.  If you are loyal to Giant Eagle, they have a curbside express option.  You’ll have to pick out your own groceries online, but they will pluck everything from the shelves and have them bagged and ready for you at an agreed upon time and day.  No need to get out of the car! This was a life saver for me when I had a newborn in the winter. 

Downtown lunches: My new favorite downtown spot can make a quick hot meal, or a quick delivery. I’m pretty picky about my Italian food, but Fanucce’s on the CSU campus is legit! Cleveland Pickle always makes an effort to bring their delish sandwiches and pickles to the masses, and cut out the parking problems that plague downtown restaurants.  

Who are your favorite delivery places in town? 

One thought on “Bring me food! Delivery options for hungry Clevelanders this winter

Leave a Reply

